EW Home Hosts Chrissy Houlahan Event

Committee Person and School Board member Samantha Jouin (along with others) hosted a Chrissy Houlihan event at her house on Saturday, September 15.  It was well attended by 60 or more people.


The highlight of the event was Chrissy’s talk.  First, she described the new 6th congressional district.  Next, she documented her family’s tradition of military service.  Her grandfather, father, and Chrissy herself served as military aviators.

After fulfilling her military commitments, and obtaining a master’s degree in technology policy from MIT, Chrissy said she joined a T-shirt company in Paoli.  This was the AND-1 company that was incorporated as a B corporation.  Chrissy was the Chief Operating Officer and grew the company to $250M in revenues before selling it.

The experience with a B corporation led her and husband Bart to found B-Lab which helps other companies with their charters.

Chrissy said she realized that education is the main path to success in our country.  So, she then became a chemistry teacher (Teach for America program) in a Philadelphia school.  Following this she served as president of the non-profit Springboard Collaborative.  Springboard’s purpose is to improve early childhood literacy in underserved communities countrywide.

Finally, Chrissy told us why she was running.  She believes that under the current administration, the democratic principles under which our country was founded are in jeopardy.  And on a personal level, she stated that her daughter’s rights as a member of the LBGT community are being curtailed.

Chrissy took action by running for office.




Some of the event organizers from East Whiteland including Samantha, Laura House-Kelly, Marsha Peltz, and Lynne Neefe.

Annual Picnic Honors Bob Eshelman

The East Whiteland and Charlestown Democrats honored committeeman and assistant zone leader Bob Eshelman during their picnic in August. Bob was known as a tireless worker who could explain the local and national political landscape.

He was also known for his topical (and hilarious) T-shirts, and his beautiful dog Logi.







Ben Franklin was a special guest.  He gave all present a history lesson on his life and achievements.









Everyone enjoyed the food especially the lambburgers.

Consider joining our group for similar fun activities.

Weekend Warriors

Your neighborhood Democrats have been busy knocking on doors, getting folks to think about the Midterms and protesting the awful immigration policies. Here are a few photos from last weekend.

Last Sunday night, several of us from Zone 13 met at the West Chester Courthouse steps to show our incredulity for the immigration policies of separating children from their moms and dads. We heard moving speeches from our friends and neighbors around Chester County. The TV crews and newspapers covered the Candlelight Vigil and some of us had our 5-seconds of fame!

Families Belong Together Rally
Saturday, June 30 at 10 am
Historic Chester County Courthouse steps

Also in Philadelphia
Saturday, June 30 at 11 am
Logan Circle

The National Rally is being held at Lafayette Square in Washington, DC
For more information, go to FamiliesBelongTogether.org for local events across the country.

If you want to get involved, at home or around the county, attend our next East Whiteland/Charlestown Dems meeting on Monday night, July 2 at 7 pm at the East Whiteland Township Building. You’ll hear from candidates and/or their campaign representatives.

Let’s get organized now. Election Day is November 6 — just 19 weeks away!

Wonderful news to share!

Your 14 Committee Persons (or their proxies) attended last week’s Chester County Democratic Committee (CCDC) Reorganization Meeting to elect new Officers for 2018-2022.

And the winners included — Marsha Peltz for CCDC Vice Chair.

Marsha (second from left above) says, “I am delighted to help lead not just East Whiteland and Charlestown but all of the precincts and zones in our county!”

Links to news articles about the entire reorganization results:


Your Zone 13 was well represented by:

Michael Churchill & Irene Banionis
Chris Demás & Steve Rhoades
Maddie Rolston & Dave Hesson
Amanda Snyder & Michele Vaughn
Terri Schatz & Donna Pyne
Joyce Hegarty & John Hegarty
Vicki Damiani & Martin McElroy
Tom Parker & MaryLou Meehan

Our Assistant Zone Leader Jerry Pyne was instrumental in setting up the entire county’s check-in process!  We are so fortunate to have such a great team represent us before the whole county.

Irene Banionis did a wonderful job making the nomination for me as Vice Chair to a crowd of about 400 people in the West Chester Stetson Middle School auditorium. As folks gathered, the candidates passed out buttons, stickers, goodie bags and campaign lit. There was real excitement in the air as nominations, speeches, and voting took place.

There is one more Reorganization Election and that’s for East Whiteland/Charlestown Dems only! We meet on Monday, July 2 at 7 pm to elect our new Zone Leader and Assistant Zone Leader. Jerry Pyne and Chris Demas are running as a slate.

Anyone else wish to add their name? If so, email Marsha at marsha1000@aol.com by June 30.

Counting Down To the May 15 Primary

Your East Whiteland and Charlestown neighbors have been very busy getting ready for our favorite Spring Day — the mid-term Primary!  Polls open at 7 am on Tuesday, May 15 and we are ready with over 30 poll greeters in six locations! Stop by and say hello.   Don’t forget to claim your I Voted sticker on the way out.

Last night we met at the home of Sue Habgood for a Meet ‘n Greet with East Whiteland’s Jeff McFall, one of two candidates for the Pennsylvania 167th House of Representatives. Sue joined forces with (Chef) Adrienne Abramson for a truly delicious gathering.

Last weekend we had two big events — Co-hosting a Malvern Blooms booth with our next-door neighbors, the Willistown-Malvern Dems and our semi-annual Sample Ballot Stuffing at Marsha’s house. Many candidates shared our Blooms booth including Tanner Rouse for PA State Senate, Alex Teplyakov for PA Dems State Committee plus Kristine Howard and Jeff McFall, both running for the 167th House seat. Zone Leaders Denise VanValkenburgh and Marsha Peltz talked to dozens of Malvern Blooms visitors, answering questions about the mid-term races.

Kristine Howard (2nd from left) and Jeff McFall (far right) at Malvern Blooms
Thanks to SO many volunteers, it only took four hours (and many Dunkin’ Donuts) to fold, stuff, address and seal 530 household envelopes. The Sample Ballot mailing was smaller than our Fall campaign as we want to save our limited dollars for a BIG push come November. The ballots arrived in mailboxes this week. A big thank you to our many volunteers!
Ballot mailing
Ballot mailing
Ballot mailing
Pam Rockacy
Donna Pyne
Bob Rodini
Aleen McElroy
Jerry Pyne
Joyce Stanley
Sue Habgood
Carl Abramson
Marlyn Calabrese
Adrienne Abramson
Carol Armstrong
Irene Banionis
Lynne Neefe
Martin McElroy