Candidate Petition Process

For the past three weeks East Whiteland/Charlestown and county candidates have been busy collecting the needed signatures to get their names on the Democratic ballot. Many of you attended our annual Pizza Petition Party on February 24.

Some candidates are able to “cross file” and have their names on the Republican Primary ballot! Likewise you may see Republican names on our Democratic Primary ballot on May 21 when we next vote.

How many signatures are needed depends on which race you wish to enter. Our Great Valley School Board candidates need to obtain only 10 signatures from registered voters in GVSD. Someone running for County Office such as Sheriff or Commissioner needs to get 250. Most candidates try to get double that amount to be sure that every signature is valid.

Neha Mehta

On Sunday, March 10 the Chester County Democratic Committee held a Notary Party for any and all candidates running for office in Primary 2019. Many folks from our zone attended. Michele Vaughn is running as one of two candidates for Register of Wills. Dr. Neha Mehta is running for Region 2 GVSD. All forms needed to be notarized and then turned in to Chester County Voter Services by 4:30 pm March 12.

Voter Services of Chester County collects all petitions and then begins the process of creating the ballot that we’ll see on May 21. A few things happen along the way. Individuals may challenge the validity of a nomination petition within seven days of the filing deadline. Voter Services writes on their website:

Typically, signatures are challenged on the basis that the signer was not qualified to sign the candidate’s nomination petition or paper, or the information provided by the signer is illegible. On some occasions, the validity of a signature is challenged on the basis that the signer’s handwriting or signature does not match that contained in the signer’s registration record. Most other challenges are based on the accuracy of the information provided by the candidate on the Candidate’s Affidavit or Statement of Financial Interests.

Jerry Pyne and Michele Vaughn

Ballot position is the next step in the election process. If there are more names than the number of votes that may be cast for an office, a drawing is held for ballot position.

An interesting side note for the General Election in November:

Since the current Governor of Pennsylvania is a registered Democrat, all Democratic party candidates will appear first. If the office requires a vote for more than one candidate, names will be listed according to the number of votes received in the Primary, with the highest vote getter listed first.

Marsha Peltz, Dan Boyle, Beth Sweet

We wish all of our candidates the best of luck as the petition process ends and we await the results of the CCDC Endorsement Convention on March 19. Zone Leader Jerry Pyne will lead our 16-member delegation of Committee Persons, Zone Leader and Assistant Zone Leader. Our own Marsha Peltz, Vice Chair of CCDC, will be seen on the Convention stage throughout the process!

The 2019 petition period ends on Tuesday, March 12. Feel free to reach out to Jerry or Marsha about our Primary or if you would like to run for office one day!

CCDC By-Law Convention

Chairman Dick Bingham

Zone 13 was well represented at the 2019 Bylaws Convention and Candidates Forum on Thursday, Feb. 21.
Chairman Dick Bingham led the packed auditorium through the Articles and amendments of our CCDC Bylaws to update them for the first time in almost a decade.
Our Committee Persons and their proxies got to hear from 21 well-qualified candidates hoping to win an endorsed slot on the May 21 Primary ballot. Our own zone’s Michele Vaughn is running for Register of Wills.

Thank you to all who attended from East Whiteland and Charlestown:

Jerry Pyne
Chris Demas
Marsha Peltz
John Neefe
Carl Abramson
Amanda Snyder
Michele Vaughn
Samantha Jouin
Tom Parker
Irene Banionis
Steve Rhoades
Dave Hesson

For up-to-the-moment information on who’s running for County and Statewide offices, visit the CCDC website at

Paperwork is ready

East Whiteland and Charlestown CPs

Candidates (left) make their pitch.

Delegates can vote, candidates cannot.

More 2019 Candidates Pitch to Zone 13

On Monday, Feb. 4, nine candidates made their pitch at the Zone 13 meeting.  A brief bio of each can be found here.

These candidate need petition signatures to make it onto the primary ballot.  There will be a petition signing party at John’s Pizza on Sunday, Feb. 24 from 2 to 5 pm.

Debbie Bookman (Prothonotary) w/Jerry Pyne

Dan Boyle (Sheriff)

Joe Heffren (Prothonotary)

Jim Kovaleski (Charlestown Magisterial Judge)

Tip McCabe (Judge/Common Pleas)

Alita Rovito (Judge/Common Pleas)

Dan Maisano (Judge/Common Pleas)

Joe Lunsford (Sheriff)

Michele Vaughn (Register of Wills)



Meet School Board Candidate Neha Mehta

(L to R) Gerry Pyne, Denise Vankenburgh, Dr. Neha Mehta, and Betsy Allinson

Say hello to our Region 2 School Board Candidate, Dr. Neha Mehta (pronounced nay-ha meh-ta). Neha is a pediatrician and mother to three Great Valley School students.  She shared with us that her children attend school in grades Kindergarten to 6th.  Her husband is a cardiologist at Paoli Hospital.  They have lived in our township since 2004.
This year there are two openings for GV School Board Region 2.  Eligible voters live in four precincts —
EW 1 (Immaculata), EW 2 (GV School District Building) and EW 3 (Peoples Pantry) plus Malvern Borough. 
Neha will be campaigning in our zone and next door with the Willistown/Malvern Dems.

Meet more candidates for the primary election

Zone 13 held its meeting last night and this brought more excellent candidates in the May primary election.  Below each picture is a link to the candidate’s website giving their background and qualifications.

Bret Binder: candidate for Court of Common Pleas.

Link to Bret Binder info.

Left to right: Kathi Cozzone (candidate for County Commissioner), Jerry Pyne (zone 13 leader), Mike McGann (candidate for Register of Wills), Chris Demas (zone 13 assistant leader).

Link to Kathi Cozzone info.

Link to Mike McGann info.

Middle: Fredda Maddox (candidate for Sheriff).

Link to Fredda Maddox info.

Ginny Kerslake: candidate for County Commissioner.

Link to Ginny Kerslake info.

Chris Pielli: candidate for Recorder of Deeds.

Link to Chris Pielli info.


Rep. Howard’s office is Open

Please sign up for Kristine’s newsletter by clicking on the link in the upper right corner here

Tim Kearny (state senator) with Kristine Howard (state representative)

Office is located at Greentree building, Suite 309, 40 Lloyd Ave., Malvern 19355

Kristine Howard (2nd from left) with Zone 13 members

Kristine Howard (3rd from left) with Zone 13 members